EATUC Strategic Plan from 2012 – 2017

This document is the East African Trade Union Confederation (EATUC) Strategic Plan from 2012 to 2017.


The East African Trade Union Confederation (EATUC) was established in 1988 and currently is composed of the Central Organization of Trade Unions (Kenya), the National Organization of Trade Unions (Uganda), Zanzibar Trade Union Congress, the Trade Union Congress of Tanzania, COSYBU of Burundi and CESTRAR of Rwanda. A permanent secretariat was established in October 2006 in Arusha, Tanzania. EATUC enjoys an observer status within the EAC structures.

As a regional workers’ body, EATUC has been instrumental in ensuring that the East African Community involves workers in all issues concerning regional integration, establishes tripartism as an important mechanism of consultation and dialogue, promoting the ratification of international labour conventions by the partner states, promote the integration of youth and women in all spheres of socio-economic development, promoting the decent work agenda, harmonization of labour laws and policies in East Africa and promoting the concept of free movement of factors of production in the region.

Our Publications